Which EU countries require citizenship tests?

Citizenship Test

The citizenship laws of some EU member states require immigrants to prove they are able to to integrate, have knowledge of local language, history and culture.  

All immigrants must pass to gain EU citizenship. 

The Standardised citizenship test (civic test) helps to assess applicants’ knowledge about the country, its legal and constitutional system, as well as attitudes and views on key cultural issues. These tests come in oral or written exams.

About half, 14 out of the 28 EU member states require a citizenship test for naturalization.

Here is the full list of countries.

Citizenship Test Required

  1. Austria
  2. Denmark
  3. Estonia
  4. France
  5. Germany
  6. Greece+
  7. Hungary
  8. Latvia+
  9. Lithuania
  10. Netherlands+
  11. Romania
  12. Slovakia
  13. Spain+
  14. United Kingdom+ (exiting EU from 2021)

Citizenship test NOT Required

  1. Belgium
  2. Bulgaria*
  3. Croatia
  4. Cyprus*
  5. Czechia
  6. Finland
  7. Ireland+
  8. Italy
  9. Luxembourg+
  10. Malta*
  11. Poland
  12. Portugal+
  13. Slovenia
  14. Sweden

*These countries run citizenship by investment programs
+These countries run golden visa programs

Source: European Commission Report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *